Home Cast Doodles Comics Artwork Singles Diary Banners

profile | notes | the past | voice


Diary
2003-08-06
[ the job. ]



Forty-hour workweeks, lunch breaks, work related wardrobe, regular breakfast, employee clubs, medical benefits, company credit card, overtimes, politics, dress codes, safety training, customer service, paid vacations, raises, tax returns, memos, vendors, returning calls, and official radio procedures. Write-ups and pink slips and warnings and people you�ll never see pass a thirty-day period. Probations, suspensions, drug tests, interviews, job posting and seniority based job qualifications.

I�m shaping up to be some kind of normal working human being.

Which is not entirely a bad page of my life. Asides from my lack of seniority in the company I am very respected at my work. Although I am without my certifications or degrees, no one there questions my intelligence and abilities. I am commonly referred to as the local genius and in house technician. I wanted them to change that to my official work title, but then people would be bogging me down for questions and favors left and right.

It�s like being the friend with the truck that never uses it except to help people move shit.

No four wheels here or a flat bed. Common sense, quick logic, and just experience in consumer related electronics. I fix the entire office of computers from certain death and since then all the upper level managers knew me by name.

Five months ago I was serving pizza in the food court, now they want me to do sales audits, quarter reports, expenses, and all that mean while still help customers pick out the best digital cameras or television or computer they can afford.

It�s like a white and blue-collar job at the same time. So would that be called a pastel blue-collar job? Entry-level management makes fifty thousand a year, nothing to sneeze at. They are expecting me to be entry-level manager within the next few years.

Tomorrow I have a connection I made to start with Secure Funding, which is a mortgage service company. So this is it, my plan is all coming together. I will sell people their homes and financial security for the rest of their lives. I will insure my own by making connections and being referenced. I will work hard and then stop at any moments notice to travel.

I want to see everything possible, but not be a tourist. No �main attractions�. I want to see the local towns, drink town table wines, ride through single lane streets and arrive at local airports. I want to drink locally brewed beer from taverns not mentioned in travel guides. I want to eat from hole in the wall places that has the best fucking food but no one knows about. I want to raid collections of vinyl that was never touched by the influx of modern bedroom disk jockeys that only wish to earn their fame but shame the music.

I want to live in other cultures and know what I�m missing. Everyone in their life time should find one or two secrets.

hints:

GWB = George W Bush

Orange County, California = Land of mtv kids whom believes they are punk rock. Now with it's own television series. People that watch this show should be impaled with a wooden cooking spoon.



7 comments so far

-krazypenguin

< this way | that way >

Hello Again! - 2008-07-31
go here instead - 2006-03-14
goodbye - 2006-02-25
wow finally brought back - 2005-07-31
this is where i am now - 2004-12-01